Vicky Kelly’s Scrappy World



A Very Sad Week

The week started pretty nicely, my 41st birthday was on Monday. 

I stayed home from church on Tuesday night due to just feeling exhausted.  I went to bed around 9:30 p.m., got up & then took a long nap on Wednesday.  I am glad I did because the phone call I received later that afternoon was pretty devastating. 

My dad passed on Wed. afternoon.  His presence will be so missed this Christmas especially.  Things had not been easy for him the past two years.  He was sober (alcoholic) for over 20 years until about two years ago.  It started out slowly, mostly social drinking but then by the end he was drinking most of his waking hours.  I do suspect there’s more to this story, maybe a terminal illness.  Autopsy results are weeks in coming.

I am doing ok.  I know without having the Lord in my life I’d be a basket case.  I have felt that unexplainable peace.  Not to say anxiety has not been there & I’ve really been irritable. 

A really good outlet for grief & sorrow is scrapbooking.  I have worked at a frenzy on an altered stool for grandchild Chloe who turned two today (awesome, awesome little party at Valerie’s house today!).  She adores Mickey & Minnie so I broke out of my “never use character items to scrapbook with” rule (not really a rule, just something I rarely use lol) & covered that thing with plenty of Mickey/Minnie patterned paper.  Picture to follow, just scroll down on this page.

Early this week I subscribed to a fabulous online scrapbooking magazine called Scrapbook News & Review.  I spent literally hours on Thursday & Friday & was especially inspired by the very talented Debbi Tehrani’s work.  I love her “random memories” pages & decided I’d start a few of my dad.  I love learning more about color so finished a challenge issued by a site she is on design team for called Color Combos Galore (http://colorcombosgalore.blogspot.com ). 

My finished item (my plan is to journal here & there when the inspiration hits but design the pages in the meantime & place them in my newly purchased 8×8 books).  Speaking of empty scrapbooks I was SO blessed to find at a local flea market some empty, brand spanking new 8×8 scrapbooks that are perfect to use for the memory books about my dad.  I actually stood there trying to decide whether or not to divert some grocery money to buy 5 of the albums.  Finally decided to do it, each album was priced at 3.00.  Well I bought a lot more then that at the flea market & only was charged 17.00 for the entire lot!  A God thing in my eyes! 

colorcombochallenge951 This is the color pallette used.

dadmemory1

 

I splurged a bit on a pack of gorgeous papers & die cuts by SEI.  Cardstock is by Bazzill, journalling paper is by Making Memories, rub on letters to create the title are by American Crafts.  I need to ask my mom to fill in the blanks on how old my dad was in the pictures I scrap.  For now I’m just scrapping them, then I will fill in the many memories I have spent with him of times that were good.  He was not a perfect person, far from a perfect husband to my mom back then.  But, the years after he stopped drinking we had such a wonderful reconciliation of our family.  My mom & dad never remarried but he was very involved in our lives.  He was a pillar to all of us, so strong.  I got my stubbornness & drive to keep on keeping on from this man! 

Now, happy topic, the birthday girl.  I had such fun creating this for her!  The stool was originally painted lavendar & I had meant to finish it but it sat in my closet for a year lol 

(note:  right after posting this, I submitted it for publication at Ready, Set, Create.  It is going to be featured in the Dec./Jan. issue!  So, if you want a sneak peek, you will need to go subscribe 🙂  I had to remove the image from my blog but it will return in a few months).

A picture of Chloe opening her gift:

Other fun stuff from a fabulous online crop held at www.scrapgoods.com  :

newcheesygrin2

Challenge was to use felt on a layout.  I had this picture forever, more of a random picture that I love for the silly factor. 

notscaryparade2

This challenge was to use a sketch created by Marinka at ScrapGoods for inspiration.  This what I got!  I used up nearly every bit of last year’s Zany Zinnia October kit on this plus added buttons from Walmart. 

scoobyruns2

This was created from a mini class/challenge to use shaped paper.  I loved this memory, I am now 27 weeks pregnant & chasing after this little guy in the church parking lot at Trunk or Treat was a challenge!  But, it’s a challenge that I find joy in, knowing how hard Jonah has worked to learn to walk. 

I am off now to do some more resting.  Plan for Sunday night is to do some reading, watching Cold Case, & maybe some more scrapping.


Leave a Reply

