Vicky Kelly’s Scrappy World



April 2008 Inspiration Team “work”

Before Topline-Creations switched gears & got rid of the direct sales, consultantship aspect of the company I decided to sponsor the Inspiration Team at http://www.fromhere2scrapternity.com . I don’t regret doing it, not one bit! We all had a wonderful, creative time using the kits & Chatterbookz for the month of April.

I kept the Runway Salt & Pepper kit for myself as well as the Adore Chatterbook. One of our assignments was to create a layout about ourselves. It could have any number of pictures but had to be just about us. I chose to talk about my roles. Mom, wife, artsy gal, nurse. My favorite role of course is that of “child of God”.

Another assignment was to do a layout with three photos. One needed to be 5×7 or larger. It needed to use as much of the kit contents I sent (I also sent buttons & ribbon along with the TLC products) as possible. And, it had to have visible doodling. I did find this a challenge but in meeting that challenge I really feel that I sharpened my doodling skills! And, had so much fun with it! I think now I’m a more confident doodler then before 😀 I chose to get more wedding photos scrapped. This is my oldest daughter, Valerie, marrying her best friend, Max. He’s an awesome son in law, dad, husband!

Lastly, I turned the Adore Chatterbook into a baptism gift for my 10 year old daughter, Hope. She chose to be baptised yesterday in a very beautiful ceremony at our church, Fellowship Bible, Topeka.
I did not scrap any of the pictures from yesterday in this particular album but wanted to place various photos that I felt showed her personality & vibrance. I also included a few scriptures that I felt hit home. And, an excerpt from http://www.crosswalk.com; an article about baptism. The products I used to complete this little project were varied: TLC Runway Slumber Party papers, Making Memories journalling papers, buttons from Walmart, Stickles glitter “glue”, felt flowers by Prima, ribbon from http://www.savvynsassy.com, cardstock stickers from Heidi Grace, stickers by Kelly Pannaci, vellum scripture stickers (unsure of the brand), and basic craft paint from Walmart. I also chose to do some more doodling throughout. I often just use regular office pens by Uniball.

In other “news” haha, I got to see Expelled yesterday with a dear friend of mine, Laura. It was really a good movie! One part that was hard to watch though was the shots of Ben Stein touring through one of the concentration camps from the Holocaust. The imagery brought to life the horrors of what happened back then. It hit me so hard that in another country, in another time, my little boy, Jonah, may have been deemed unfit for life by some. That just brought such sorrow to my heart. I cannot imagine what horrors had to have happened to so many back then. The movie was not so much focussing on that but in showing this, it did provide food for thought that life can be such a slippery slope.

I highly recommend the movie to anyone.

I do have the Monday morning blahs. Usually Monday brings a fresh feeling of joy to me. I love starting over a new week, getting back on routine. But, we did have some conflict last evening & there are unresolved issues still here at home. I know God’s good for the challenge, to Him it’s not even a challenge to take things & turn them around for good. I trust Him, just the getting there is rough.

My son, Chris, got me hooked onto Lost. From the beginning of the show I knew it was a show I’d enjoy. But, by the time I decided I wanted to watch it, it was well into season two. So, I made a decision to wait until it came out on dvd. And, here it is. Chris works for Blockbuster & can rent movies for free each week. I am now on the 2nd dvd. And, hooked!

Well that’s all for now, I still have some waking up to do. Yawn…..


Leave a Reply

