Vicky Kelly’s Scrappy World



Murphy’s Other Laws

Linda from From Here 2 Scrapternity posted this on the message board today & I thought it was worth passing on :giggles:

1. Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

2. A fine is a tax for doing wrong. A tax is a fine for doing well.

3. He, who laughs last, thinks slowest.

4. A day without sunshine is like, well, night.

5. Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine.

6. Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don’t.

7. Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

8. The 50-50-90 rule: Anytime you have a 50-50 chance of getting something right, there’s a 90% probability you’ll get it wrong.

9. It is said that if you line up all the cars in the world end-to-end, someone would be stupid enough to try to pass them.

10. If the shoe fits, get another one just like it.

11. The things that come to those that wait may be the things left by those who got there first.

12. Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat all day drinking beer.

13. Flashlight: A case for holding dead batteries.

14. The shin bone is a device for finding furniture in the dark.

15. When you go into court, you are putting yourself in the hands of twelve people who weren’t smart enough to get out of jury duty.
* * * * *
Yesterday was the 15th & with midmonth brings new challenges on http://www.fromhere2scrapternity.com . I am currently the ScrapLift Gal & this is what I did this time around.

The baby picture is one of me, chunky little monkey me! I had our members scraplift themselves. I scraplifted one of my first layouts that I’d sort of figured out how to layer papers on a layout.
The one of the two cutie pie gals with their daddy is my grandbaby girls, Chloe & Savannah. Max is a fabulous son-in-law & dad! It’s sort of one of those funny things in that I had my oldest child when I was just 16. She married Max who is 9 years my junior :laughs: .

Back to the lift, I chose for us to lift another of NanaKaren’s layouts. She’s a super talented gal from our site at From Here 2 Scrapternity. Especially fantastic at digital art creations. My own version really morphed but that’s what scraplifting is all about in my opinion! You are to be inspired, not always just copying what someone else has done. My papers were on the busy side of things but this kit that I used is one of my all time favorite TLC lines. Slumber Party Runway. My goal was not really to make something to submit this time but to put my heart into something for the pleasure of looking at it & being able to smile. And, I did that! I always find myself sort of obsessing about design principles but if I love a paper, I will use it even if it does wind up being “busy”. And, this was just plain fun! The Post-it note flower was something I was inspired by at Walmart one day. I almost did not buy the stack of Post it’s but am glad now that I did! I used flower punches to top it then dotted some Stickles all around the edges of the flower.

I will be adding to this slide show as I get more work done. I am currently having some scrappy fun using my own Topline Creations products to create Inspiration Team projects for http://www.fromhere2scrapternity.com . I was a sponsor this month & we all have had a lot of fun seeing what we could do with all the fabulous papers, the ChatterBookz, & embellishments.

Little note on the subject of TLC: lots of changes were made to the company. I am no longer considered a consultant but have a nice 25% off discount as a member of the Buyer’s Club. It does fit me, I know the gals who worked really hard to make a career in sales through TLC were upset to have this plopped upon them without a word of warning. I still do plan to buy from TLC. I never did use it was an actual job so it was not so upsetting to me. This will just allow me a better way to really work on my Scrap-for-Hire work. I don’t plan to become rich through selling my work but it will allow me to give to Celebrate Recovery which has played a huge role in the repair of my family & my marriage. I give the credit to Jesus Christ through Celebrate Recovery.

On that topic of scrapforhire, I am currently working on a mini album for a CR friend of mine. I am thrilled to have had the Lord impress upon me to give 20% of all of my sales to Celebrate Recovery. The “tithe” from the proceeds of the 4 albums she is buying from me will benefit directly the CR meetings that hubby & I attend. My friend also attends there. They are online for any who might be interested: http://www.crtopeka.org

The remainder of any of my sales will benefit a chapter of CR that my own church (Fellowship Bible Church) is starting this year. Our opening week is this October! I am nervous but excited!

I am taking orders, I plan to sell “blank” books in which a person can just place their own pictures & do their own journalling. I can make handmade cards but admit that is not my area of expertise. I can create gift buckets (plan to get some pictures posted pretty soon) with themes, altered shadow boxes. My main thing will be larger scrapbooks but I also am creating smaller mini “brag” books.


Leave a Reply

