Vicky Kelly’s Scrappy World



Time Sure does Fly!

I feel like I’ve just been so busy all winter!  And, here it is spring again (praise God!).

Life as an Inspiration Team member at www.fromhere2scrapternity.com has been so much fun!  Total blessing in the friends I’ve made as well as the fun in the challenges & creating art using sponsor products.

This month’s sponsor was our very own member of the site, Vanessa.  She is a talented scrapper as well as a Stampin’ Up Consultant.  (her blog is:  http://www.creatingcraftingsensations.blogspot.com/ ). 

All products I got to create with are from the Simply Scrapping Rose Cottage line.  Beautiful, thick patterned papers as well as coordinating cardstock stickers. 

Other things I have been up to have been Upper Room Community prayer training.  It has been more like an ongoing prayer retreat!  Just fabulous!  I have learned so much about prayer & getting to know other women in the Topeka area has been a lot of fun. 

The hubby & I are off to A Weekend to Remember Marriage Retreat this weekend.  This is nerve-wracking for this mama!  I have never been away from any of my children except for childbirth.  Several good friends of ours from our Small Group Bible study have offered child care & also are treating us to this weekend.  And, I know we will be blessed by it.  I have decided that even if it does not have a total life transforming effect on us at the very least it will be another chance to get to know my Lord even better.  And, being pampered in the way of meals served and a room being cleaned, well one cannot beat that!  And, I have informed the hubby that we must stop in at Archiver’s on Friday afternoon.  We have no Archivers in our city.  I cannot wait!

Other fun scrappy activities I have done in March:

Team member Martha.  Incredibly talented friend!  The Blue Eyes layout is of a friend’s adorable little guy, I took this picture on New Year’s Eve.  The layout is part of my own March 15 Scraplift challenge (curious?  Head over to www.fromhere2scrapternity.com to play!).  I challenged our members to scraplift from someone from our own site.  I chose Linda H’s.  She does amazing work! 

The baby mini book was given to one of our youth pastors at FBC.  They were recently blessed with a little baby boy! 

I am taking part in a Scripture challenge on http://www.faithsisters.com  .  A new word is posted each week & the challenge is to create a card (or layout) using a scripture that conveys that word.  One week the word was Prayer, this week it is Live.  I’m a bit behind but do plan to complete this over the year & fill up a Rolodex with the cards.  God’s word means so much to me that I have wanted to have a really neat way to not only express myself artistically but this has helped me dig further into His word. 

My newest addition to this slide show is a monochromatic layout I did using a lot of yellow.  I took part in fellow IT member Judy’s Color Challenge, lots of fun & I used up some of my “silk” flowers! 

Oh yes, I am currently planning to submit for a design team position on the Upsy Daisy Team.  With most of my life I’ve been sort of afraid to try for fear of failure.  I am so glad that scrapbooking brought me out of this!  It has not once occurred to me that I could NOT be a published artist or get “hired” onto scrapbooking design teams.  I just have moved forward & believed in myself.  This has helped me to handle rejection.  It truly is all what a specific team needs at any given time.  It really is not a personal thing.  Glad that I learned that early on too!  It has helped me to stay focussed on what my goals are & that is to preserve my family’s memories, express my artsy side, & have fun.  Every time I pull out pictures to combine with fun products I smile at the memories in that photo.  Photos really do tell a story.  I have in front of me a portrait of Savannah at 4 months old.  Oh wow how I recall those baby days!  I attempted to help her mama have some freedom by babysitting.  Well she was not a happy camper when she was a tiny gal!  But, her adorable chubby cheeks & whimsical smile helped us all get through that time!

Anyway, this next slide show is going to be updated as I add more work to it.  I am creating these projects using Upsy Daisy products (www.upsydaisydesigns.com ).  I am being 100% honest when I say I fell in love with this company’s products last year when they debuted!  A scrapping friend is on the design team.  I still have products from the Ice Cream Shoppe that I received in a kit from www.zanyzinnia.com (another bragworthy kit club!).  And, I am so glad I ordered papers from the Simply U line.  I discovered when I received my happy mail that day that the papers are reversible!  Having both girls & boys (young & old) as well as the grands, I will have so much fun creating with these papers!  I am dying to get my hands on the other lines as well. 

I chose to showcase pictures from my sweet niece, Abigail’s, past two years.  She has grown up so much!  When she was born Valerie & I made a special roadtrip to Wichita to visit the new baby.  And, the following year, we all went to celebrate her first birthday at Melissa & Jeff’s house.  And, this past year, again, but by this time the “baby” had grown into a cute little walking, talking sweetheart!  Climbing upon her new bike in excitement.  Sigh….they really do grow up so quickly! 

(note:  just added a layout to my slideshow.  I used Upsy Daisy’s super fun “Simply U” line.  Oh my goodness, I really had fun with it!  The little sweetie in the pictures is my own grandbaby girl Chloe.  She’s very expressive!)

Thank you so much for allowing me to wax poetic.  I think spring is getting into me.  In a good way of course!


Leave a Reply

