Vicky Kelly’s Scrappy World



And, the Final Answer is…..

No.  And, I’m alright with it!

The question was, will I get a spot on two design teams I had applied for.  I am glad I applied, if anything it gave me courage to keep trying.  I got a lot accomplished too in scrapbooking.  And, now I have some good work to submit for publication!  If that fails well then I’ll have pleasing artwork/pages to look at & remember this time.

I am very comfortable with myself as a scrapbooker now.  When I first started submitting for publications & trying out for design teams, the rejection would hit hard.  I took it personally.  I no longer do that.  I think a turning point was in watching my friend Rhea deal with the choosing of design team members.  I know she had a tough job & hated having to turn anyone down!  It truly is not personal.

I am still confident in my own abilities.  Not every page or project I make is super wonderful in appearance.  But, everything I create means something to me.  I’m the author/designer of it.  I don’t often choose to create things that have no meaning.  I love using pictures that bring a smile to my face & help me to remember whatever it was going on in the time I took the photo.  Sometimes I will look at a scripture if it’s a little album, & that will remind me of how much my God loves me.  Or, how far He’s brought me.  Or, find pleasure & relaxation in doing something that a lot of mainstream scrapbookers might find odd, handsewing on a page.  It is one of my favorite things to do to a piece of work.

My goals have changed quite a bit.  I still find joy in submitting and occasionally finding an email in my box asking me to send the item in.  I find joy in meeting others on message boards.  I love inspiring others through creating challeges for others to take part in.  And, it is all joy to create for & promote high quality sites & stores. Hopefully one day that will include manufactures.   But, one thing that has richened my designs so much is that I am now doing this “unto the Lord” to glorify Him.  And, to let others know what He’s done in my life.

After all, my ability to even create projects & pages in my own style is a gift from the Lord.  And, it’s a gift I thank Him for!


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    You and I don’t know each other but I wanted to tell you how impressed I am that you have come as far as you have. You are an inspiration to me. I am still in the process of thinking about…wishing I could submit something to a publication or contest, and yet not having any idea of how to go about it. I read blogs all the time and it seems like everyone is either published or on a design team. I think that is so cool and I would like to be one of those people, but then I don’t go any further than to think, gee that would be fun.

    So, m’sister in the Lord, I am proud of you and your current success and your wonderful insight. Thank you so much for sharing with me/us your intimate emotions on the subjects. Your God inspired work is beautiful. I pray that your CR ministry is successful and that your dream of being on a design team comes true sooner than later. God Bless You.
    Kat

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

